Category: Labour Website of the Year

What’s next? LabourStart’s 6 remaining tasks for 2009

We have six more weeks until the end of the year and I thought I’d share with you some of the things that we’ll be doing in that time:

  1. Finalizing the date and venue for our 2010 conference.
  2. Launching more campaigns – the next one likely to be another campaign in support of Sinter Metal workers in Turkey.
  3. Renewing UnionBook now that we seem to have largely cracked the problem of (new) spammers.  This will include some serious publicity to involve more people, and the launch of new groups.
  4. Another survey of our readers — probably once again on the subject of campaigns.
  5. Preparation for the launch of our Labour Video of the Year competition — and joint work with the DC Metro Labor Council on databases of labour films and labour film festivals.
  6. Announcing the end of the Labour Website of the Year competition.

Voting ends – and we have a winner (almost)

I’ve stopped further voting for the 2009 Labour Website of the Year competition and we should announce the results next week.  According to my preliminary tally, the winner this year is the UE, with 262 votes.

The runners up are:

  • Union Songs – 232
  • Our Times – 193
  • USLEAP – 185
  • New Unionism Network – 178

This is not the final tally.   There is the possibility of ballot box stuffing, so I’d like to ask for your help to ensure that we’ve got this right.

The only thing we need to determine with any degree of accuracy is which site won, so the question is, did UE get more votes than anyone else?  This requires looking over the raw data and making a decision.

You can help by doing this and adding your comments below this post.


Over 1,100 votes cast so far – latest update

I hope this is only the beginning and am glad that several groups (UE, USLEAP and others) are actively promoting their candidacies.  Here’s the vote totals now – keep in mind that I haven’t made any effort yet to weed out duplicates and ballot stuffing:

UE 193


Union Songs 120

Our Times 118

New Unionism network 116

IWW 90


Teamsters 54

Solidarity 48


Anarcho Syndicalist review 35

Union Renewal 9

Eight hours into the voting …

360 votes cast so far, and without taking into account duplicates (so this is pretty rough), here’s where we stand:

  1. Our Times 60
  2. CUPE 40
  3. IWW 39
  4. Solidarity 36
  5. UE 35
  6. Union Songs 29
  7. New Unionism network 23
  8. Anarcho Syndicalist review 19
  9. PGFTU 17
  10. Teamsters 15
  11. USLEAP 11
  12. Union Renewal 2

Voting begins now!

There’s a new, simple ballot which I’ve written for this year’s competition for the Labour Website of the Year.  You may begin voting today- go here.

To see raw data on votes (including duplicates – ballot stuffing) go here.

I will publicize this to the nominated sites tomorrow and to our list on Thursday.

But feel free to start publicizing this to your lists now.

Short-list is now ready

As you can see here, voting is now over to select the short-list for this year’s Labour Website of the Year competition.

I’ve just now blocked the page to vote on the short-list.  No further votes will be allowed.

A total of 34 LabourStart correspondents voted, selecting an average of 5 sites each.

Here is the shortlist (the top 12):

New Unionism network
Our Times
Union Renewal
Solidarity (South Africa)
Union Song
PGFTU (Palestine)
Anarcho-Syndicalist Review

Voting will begin among our subscribers later this week.

2009 begins …

I’ve closed the voting for the Labour Website of the Year.  Our readers can no longer nominate.

We had a total of 376 nominations.

Nominations took place until the very end, with 1 on 31.12, 7 on 30.12 and 6 on 29.12.

We’ve had a massive increase in the number of sites nominated – from 104 last year to 170 this year.

354 nominations for Labour Website of the Year

Nominations close in one week and then we’ll have a mechanism in place for correspondents to select the shortlist.  At the moment we have sites nominated from the following 31 countries:

  1. Algeria
  2. Australia
  3. Austria
  4. Bangladesh
  5. Belgium
  6. Canada
  7. China
  8. Cote d’Ivoire
  9. Denmark
  10. Ethiopia
  11. France
  12. Germany
  13. Ireland
  14. Italy
  15. Malta
  16. Morocco
  17. Netherlands
  18. New Zealand
  19. Nigeria
  20. Norway
  21. Palestine
  22. Philippines
  23. Poland
  24. South Africa
  25. Spain
  26. Sri Lanka
  27. Sweden
  28. Switzerland
  29. Turkey
  30. UK
  31. USA